[Owasp-leaders] New Funding Rules and What They Mean For Chapters and Projects

Noreen Whysel noreen.whysel at owasp.org
Thu Nov 19 01:21:01 UTC 2015


Yes. You are correct. Dec 1 for 2016 budget, Nov 1 for subsequent years.

Noreen Whysel
Community Manager
OWASP Foundation

> On Nov 18, 2015, at 7:41 PM, Robert Shullich <robert.shullich at owasp.org> wrote:
> 
> Based on what I read in the minutes, I think the above is inaccurate, please confirm.
> 
> It says on the Wiki that the budget is due Nov 1 but December 1 for 2015.
> 
> Let's be realistic, you pass the resolution mid Octobet and you want a budget for 2916 in less than two weeks?
> 
> Sent from my iPhone
> Robert Shullich, CPP, CISSP, CISM, GSEC, CIPP/US
> Enterprise Security Architect
> Tower Group Companies
> Pro Box 026156
> Brooklyn NY 11202
> (201) 291-7432 (Direct)
> (201) 221-8767 (Fax)
> (908) 419-5417 (Mobile)
> 
> 
>> On Nov 17, 2015, at 3:09 PM, Noreen Whysel <noreen.whysel at owasp.org> wrote:
>> 
>> The Global Board has voted on several proposals affecting funding rules for chapters and projects. A summary of the voting record is available on the wiki. The rule changes that may affect your activities are as follows:
>> 
>> Chapters and projects with more than a $5000 allocation as of October 1 are required to submit a budget for 2016 by November 1. Affected leaders have already been notified.
>>  
>> All chapter accounts with less than $500 will be brought to $500 on Jan 1 as long as they have two active leaders.
>>  
>> Similarly, a $500 starting budget will be applied for projects newly reaching Lab Status. Projects newly reaching Flagship Status with an account balance less than $1000 will be brought to $1000. Both Lab and Flagship status projects will need to have at least two active leaders at that time.
>> Over the past week, Executive Director Paul Ritchie has reached out to leaders who have more than $5000 in their budgets and held a series of Go2Meeting sessions for Q&A. We will do a second series for those with allocations under $500. Any leader is welcome to join these calls.
>> 
>> We will review the original purpose & objective, then I'll talk about the tools & Timeline. I'm happy to take any and all questions.
>> 
>> Please join my Go-To-Meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone.
>> https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/529205341
>> 
>> --  Thursday, Nov. 19  08:00 Pacific / 11:00 EST / 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET
>> --  Monday,   Nov. 23, 09:00 Pacific / 12:00 EST / 17:00 GMT / 18:00 CET
>> --  Tuesday,  Nov. 24, 07:00 EST     /  Noon GMT / 21:00 JST / 17:30 IST
>> 
>> You can also dial in using your phone.
>> United States +1 (224) 501-3412
>> Access Code: 242-544-957
>> Please RSVP for the meeting that works best for your timezone.
>> 
>> See the results of several board proposals affecting funding for 2016: https://www.owasp.org/index.php/OWASP_Board_Votes#Voting_Records
>> 
>> You may check your account balance and funding history here:
>> 
>> Chapters:
>> 
>> Chapter Balance (Donation Scoreboard)
>> US Chapter Transactions
>> EU Chapter Transactions
>> Projects
>> 
>> Project Balance (Donation Scoreboard)
>> US Project Transactions
>> EU Project Transactions
>> 
>> Noreen Whysel
>> Community Manager
>> OWASP Foundation
>> _______________________________________________
>> OWASP-Leaders mailing list
>> OWASP-Leaders at lists.owasp.org
>> https://lists.owasp.org/mailman/listinfo/owasp-leaders
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.owasp.org/pipermail/owasp-leaders/attachments/20151118/c71e3ec1/attachment-0001.html>


More information about the OWASP-Leaders mailing list