[Owasp-leaders] "Powered by OWASP"

Paul Ritchie paul.ritchie at owasp.org
Mon Nov 24 16:01:49 UTC 2014

Just to reassure everyone, we are spending some time updating  the branding
rules & policies, so we can apply consistently to each of these issues that
pop up.  Often a over-zealous marketing type gets creative with their ad
words, and we just have to remind them of a couple reasonable alternatives.

This one is not so blatant that it requires an immediate 'cease & desist',
but we will reach out to them shortly.
Keep up the dialogue though, its good to have ideas and consensus from the
community when applying these types of policies, especially in an
international arena.

Best Regards, Paul Ritchie
OWASP Interim Executive Director
paul.ritchie at owasp.org

On Sun, Nov 23, 2014 at 11:32 AM, Larry Conklin <larry.conklin at owasp.org>

> I agreed it makes it look like it's approved by OWASP. You can't even
> click on the OWASP icon to be taken to OWASP site.
> I think this is an issue that the board and Paul needs to address with the
> vendor.
> Larry
> On Thu, Nov 20, 2014 at 9:57 AM, psiinon <psiinon at gmail.com> wrote:
>> Just seen this site: http://scan.webguardshield.com/
>> The "Powered by .." section appears to me to imply its supported by
>> OWASP, which of course it isnt.
>> Does anyone else read it that way?
>> If so, whats the correct approach for dealing with these sort of things?
>> Simon
>> --
>> OWASP ZAP <https://www.owasp.org/index.php/ZAP> Project leader
>> _______________________________________________
>> OWASP-Leaders mailing list
>> OWASP-Leaders at lists.owasp.org
>> https://lists.owasp.org/mailman/listinfo/owasp-leaders
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.owasp.org/pipermail/owasp-leaders/attachments/20141124/8b96662c/attachment.html>

More information about the OWASP-Leaders mailing list